In the spring of 2017, the 1700 La Poste will host its second collective exhibition with the works of Ivan Binet, Jocelyne Alloucherie and Mathieu Cardin.

We find ourselves before three artists of different generations whose work presents analogies in the representation of the subject, and who complement one other. The exhibition is constructed around the notion of vertigo. Through diverse strategies, we are lead to question our assumptions about space and the very concept of the landscape.

Ivan Binet, a photographer originally from Québec City, has been developing his photography practice for more than twenty years, primarily exploring the concept of landscape. He stages sites that are familiar to him, engaging a dialogue in which photography plays the role of mediator. He employs vantage points that produce a destabilizing loss of spatial reference, blurring the line between representation and abstraction to induce a sense of vertigo in the viewer. His work is featured in numerous public collections, including those of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts, the Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography in Ottawa and the Loto-Québec Collection. The recipient of numerous grants in the context of art and architecture integration projects, Binet has created more than twenty works of public art. In 2005, he was honoured with the Videre Prize from the Prix d’excellence des arts et de la culture de Québec. Ivan Binet lives and works in L’Ange-Gardien.

Here, the photography centers on a void perceived not as inscrutable nothingness, but as a presence – a void through which everything else is organized. Binet deprives us of reference points, destabilizing us.
– Isabelle de Mévius

Jocelyne Alloucherie was born in Québec City in 1947. Through complex configurations, her work explores, in conceptual and poetic ways, notions related to image, object and place. She has created numerous installations that combine elements informed by sculptural, architectural and photographic considerations. Her work has been presented in many major institutions in Canada and the U.S., as well as in Europe and Asia. She made noted contributions to the first Canadian Biennial (1989), the first Biennale de Montréal (1998), Paessaggii / Landscapes (2001), the Biennale de Liège (2002), Real Spaces / Fictitious Spaces (2006) and the Biennale de Sedan (2006), among other major projects and exhibitions worldwide. In 2008, Alloucherie was the subject of a solo exhibition at the Grand Palais de Paris.

The artist is the recipient of many awards, notably the Louis-Philippe-Hébert Prize from the Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal (1999); the Governor General’s Award from the Canada Council for the Arts ( 2000); the Paul-Émile-Borduas Prize (2002); and the Jean-Paul-Riopelle Prize (2006). She was granted the Order of Canada in 2008. Jocelyne Alloucherie lives and works in Montréal.

Through the unique installation of her photographs, Alloucherie bypasses the traditional boundaries between painting, sculpture and architecture. She sets up the photograph as a structure to be discovered via architectural elements. In this topographic analysis of mazes, one world opens onto another.
– Isabelle de Mévius

Born in 1983, Mathieu Cardin is originally from the Outaouais region of Québec. He holds a BA in Visual Arts from the Université du Québec en Outaouais (2010), and an MFA in Studio Arts from Concordia University (2014). His practice takes form primarily through sculptures and installations in which accumulation is combined with deconstruction, leaving the viewer to distinguish between reality and fiction. Cardin’s work is often articulated around a narrative in which the exhibition visitor, as an accomplice to the artist, takes on the double role of actor and spectator. His installations have been presented in Québec, notably at the Parisian Laundry, the Fondation Guido Molinari, Galerie B-312, and the 33rd Symposium international d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul. His work has also been shown in France, Italy and Mexico. Since 2008, Mathieu Cardin has lived and worked in Montréal.

For Cardin, perspective is a way of perceiving nature. As such, it constitutes a philosophical quest in its own right. As we look at a landscape, we create it through our choice of vantage point. The artist, in taking up landscape as his subject, deconstructs it geographically, presenting its various strata as autonomous volumes that coexist in the exhibition space.
– Isabelle de Mévius

Contact

Opening hours

From October 6 to December 17 2017

From Wednesday to Sunday

From 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Free admission

Our offices are open Monday to Friday, from 9AM to 5PM.


To stay informed of our events:

Isabelle de Mévius
Executive and Artistic Director

Roger Lupien
Administrative Director


For group visits, please contact us at (438) 384-1700 or via info@1700laposte.com.

 

Please be advised that 1700 La Poste is not available for rent.

Au printemps 2017, le 1700 La Poste présentera sa seconde exposition collective avec les œuvres d’Ivan Binet, de Jocelyne Alloucherie et de Mathieu Cardin.

L’exposition est articulée autour de la notion de vertige, qui se décline sous diverses formes, ayant toutes pour assise un rapport singulier à l’espace. Diverses stratégies mènent à une déstabilisation du spectateur; un déséquilibre induit par une perte de repères; un jeu d’illusion revisitant notre interprétation du paysage; une frontière brouillée entre présence et absence; une matérialité énigmatique; une rupture dans l’état de satiété.

Ivan Binet, photographe originaire de la ville de Québec, développe une pratique photographique depuis plus d’une vingtaine d’années, explorant principalement la notion de paysage. Il met en scène des lieux qui lui sont familiers, avec lesquels s’établit un dialogue où la photographie prend le rôle de médiateur. Il travaille des points de vue qui entraînent une perte de référence spatiale déstabilisante, où la ligne entre représentation et abstraction fléchit pour amener le spectateur vers un état de vertige. On retrouve ses œuvres dans plusieurs collections publiques, dont celles du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, du Musée canadien de la photographie contemporaine d’Ottawa et la Collection Loto-Québec, entre autres. Plusieurs fois boursier dans le cadre de projets d’intégration des arts à l’architecture, il a réalisé plus d’une vingtaine d’œuvres présentes dans l’espace public. En 2005, il remporte le prix Videre des Prix d’excellence des arts et de la culture de Québec. Ivan Binet vit et travaille à L’Ange-Gardien.

La photographie est centrée autour d’un vide perçu non pas comme un néant insondable, mais comme une présence, un vide qui ordonne tout autour de lui. L’artiste déstabilise ainsi le spectateur en lui faisant perdre ses repères et le met en position de déséquilibre.
– Isabelle de Mévius

Jocelyne Alloucherie est née à Québec en 1947. À travers des configurations complexes, son œuvre explore de manière conceptuelle et poétique des notions relatives à limage, à l’objet et au lieu. Elle a réalisé de nombreuses installations qui associent des éléments relevant de considérations sculpturales, architecturales et photographiques. Son œuvre a été exposée dans plusieurs institutions majeures au Canada, aux États-Unis et dans plusieurs pays d’Europe et d’Asie. Elle a participé avec des œuvres marquantes à la première Biennale canadienne en 1989, à la première Biennale de Montréal en 1998, à Paessaggii / Landscapes en 2001, à la Biennale de Liège en 2002, à Real Spaces / Fictitious Spaces en 2006, à la Biennale de Sedan en 2006 et à plusieurs autres projets et expositions d’envergure sur la scène internationale. En 2008, Jocelyne Alloucherie exposait en solo au Grand Palais de Paris.

L’artiste est lauréate de nombreux prix, notamment le prix Louis-Philippe-Hébert de la Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal en 1999, le Prix du Gouverneur général du Conseil des arts du Canada en 2000, le prix Paul-Émile-Borduas en 2002, et le prix Jean-Paul-Riopelle en 2006. Elle a été reçue dans l’Ordre du Canada en 2008. Jocelyne Alloucherie vit et travaille à Montréal.

Jocelyne Alloucherie introduit le travail de la photo en tant que structure à découvrir à travers des architectures; c’est une analyse topographique de dédales, qui s’ouvrent d’un monde à l’autre.
– Isabelle de Mévius

Né en 1983, Mathieu Cardin est originaire de l’Outaouais. Il obtient un baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’Université du Québec en Outaouais en 2010, puis une maîtrise en arts visuels de l’Université de Concordia en 2014. Sa pratique, qui se déploie principalement sous forme de sculptures et d’installations où l’accumulation et la déconstruction se combinent, laisse au spectateur le soin de distinguer ce qui relève de la fiction et de la réalité. L’œuvre de Cardin est souvent articulée autour d’un récit narratif où le public, complice de l’artiste, joue un double rôle d’acteur et de spectateur. Ses installations ont été présentées au Québec, notamment au Parisian Laundry, à la Fondation Guido Molinari, à la Galerie B-312, et au 33e Symposium international d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul, entre autres. Son travail a aussi été exposé en France, en Italie et au Mexique. Depuis 2008, Mathieu Cardin vit et travaille à Montréal.

La perspective, pour Mathieu Cardin, est une façon d’appréhender la nature. Cela représente pour lui une quête philosophique en soi. C’est en regardant un paysage qu’on le crée, en déterminant un point de vue sur celui-ci.
– Isabelle de Mévius

Contact

Heures d’ouverture

Mercredi au vendredi, de 11h à 18h
Samedi et dimanche, de 11h à 17h

Entrée libre

 

+ + Veuillez noter qu’il n’y a pas d’exposition présentée actuellement au 1700 La Poste. + +

Nos bureaux sont ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 9h à 17h.


Pour rester à l'affût de nos événements:

Isabelle de Mévius
Directrice générale et artistique

Roger Lupien
Directeur administratif

Anne-Sophie La Haise
Adjointe coordonnatrice


 Pour les visites de groupe, veuillez nous contacter au (438) 384-1700, ou via info@1700laposte.com
Merci de noter que le 1700 La Poste n’est pas disponible pour la location.