PRESENTATION

The 1700 La Poste is pleased to present an exhibition devoted to Julie Ouellet, from April 23rd 2021.

Born in Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean in 1974, Montreal-based artist Julie Ouellet has developed a practice focused consistently on drawing and painting. The exhibition at 1700 La Poste presents a first retrospective of her work, reaching back to her beginnings in 1992. Her production since 2000, following her studies at Université du Québec à Montréal, would seem to fall into three major phases that unfold in continuity with one another: the discovery of the self and the body and its connection to the other; the motif of the thread and its development in knots; and an immersion in the landscape, guided by the constraint of having to lose oneself.

Drawing has always been central to her practice. She initially used charcoal for the freedom of line that it allows. In an ongoing quest for materiality, she went on to introduce a technique generally associated with painting: the use of melted wax on canvas or a wooden support. Ouellet added charcoal, oil and coloured pigments to the melted wax in unique explorations at the juncture between drawing and painting.

Ouellet introduces the line through the thread that she projects ahead of herself and which seems to connect every stage of her production. She controls the line through gestures constrained by rules that she sets for herself. Faced with redundancy or repetition, she breaks the rhythm and sets off in new directions, devising new constraints as the drawing progresses.

“I start working,” says Ouellet, “and as the drawing progresses I establish certain constraints for myself. It takes a long time before I break these rules; it takes an obstacle or an accident for me to set out on new paths, which in turn lead to new constraints.”

Throughout her work, Ouellet shares with us the philosophical lesson of the paradox that exists in the constraints she imposes on herself, which seem to be restrictions and yet strangely become the framework within which she can lose herself to find her art.

· · · · ·

An exclusive documentary about the artist’s work, directed by Bruno Boulianne, will be shown during opening hours. A catalogue prefaced by Isabelle de Mévius and featuring texts by Ginette Michaud and Mario Côté accompanies the exhibition.

BIOGRAPHY

Julie Ouellet, originally from Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, is an artist with a practice in drawing who lives and works in Montréal. She holds bachelor’s (2001) and master’s (2009) degrees in visual and media arts from Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). In 2017, she received the François-Xavier Marange Grant from the UQAM Foundation, which includes a year-long residency at Atelier Circulaire in Montreal (2020). Ouellet has taught drawing since 2019, first at Université de Sherbrooke and now at UQAM’s design school. She has been represented by Galerie Simon Blais in Montréal since 2003.

With an impressive array of works painted and drawn at the junction of figuration and abstraction, Ouellet is fascinated by the line and its propensity to wander and propel itself forward. She questions what dictates, influences and interferes with the pathways between the drawing hand and the seeing eye. Recent research led her to work in nature, making ephemeral creations in situ. Her investigations continue today with an exploration of etching techniques.

Ouellet has taken part in numerous solo and group exhibitions in Montreal and Toronto. Her works are held in public, corporate and private collections, including those of the Pointe-à-Callière museum in Montréal, Alcan, the National Bank of Canada, Loto-Québec and the Cirque du Soleil.


Photo_JulieOuellet


Capsule I: Isabelle de Mévius


Capsule 2: Julie Ouellet


Capsule 3: Exhibition tour

Contact

1700 la poste

1700 Notre-Dame Street W
Montreal (Qc) H3J 1M3

Metro station Lucien L’Allier
or Georges-Vanier

How to get there
T. (438) 384-1700
F. (438) 384-1600
info@1700laposte.com

The 30th anniversary of Les Impatients at 1700 La Poste

Enchanté∙e ! A look at 30 years of creation and hope

Wednesday to Sunday
11AM to 6PM


To stay informed of our events:

Isabelle de Mévius
Executive and Artistic Director

Roger Lupien
Administrative Director


Store : 

Please send an email at info@1700laposte.com to order catalog(s).

Guided tours : 

Group visits are available to everyone. In order to ensure the availability of a mediator, call (438) 384-1700 or send an email at info@1700laposte.com.

 

Please be advised that 1700 La Poste is not available for rent.

PRÉSENTATION

Le 1700 La Poste a le plaisir de présenter une nouvelle exposition consacrée à l’artiste Julie Ouellet, dès le 23 avril 2021.

Née au Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean en 1974, Julie Ouellet, dessinatrice et peintre, vit et travaille à Montréal.

L’ensemble de son œuvre semble se subdiviser en trois grandes phases, lesquelles se déploient en continuité l’une par rapport à l’autre ; la découverte de soi et du corps et son lien à l’autre, le motif du fil et son développement dans les nœuds, l’immersion dans le paysage et la contrainte d’avoir à se perdre.

Très fidèle à la pratique du dessin pour sa création, elle utilise d’abord le fusain pour un trait plus libre. Par la suite, dans une quête constante de matérialité, elle introduit une technique habituellement liée à la peinture : l’emploi de la cire fondue appliquée sur de la toile ou une surface en bois. L’artiste mélange alors le fusain, l’huile et les pigments colorés, qu’elle intègre à même la cire liquide afin de produire des explorations originales entre dessin et peinture.

Julie Ouellet introduit la ligne par ce fil qu’elle projette en avant et qui semble relier chaque étape de sa production. Elle en maîtrise le tracé en gestes contenus selon des règles qu’elle établit. Quand cela devient redondant ou répétitif, elle casse le rythme et repart dans une nouvelle direction.

« Je commence à travailler, dit-elle, et j’établis un certain nombre de contraintes au fur et à mesure de l’avancement du dessin, comme cela vient, et puis il faudra longtemps avant que je ne brise la loi. Il faut que surgisse un empêchement ou un accident pour que s’imposent de nouveaux chemins, qui conduiront à de nouvelles contraintes. »

Julie Ouellet, à travers toute son œuvre, partage avec nous la leçon philosophique du paradoxe qui existe dans la contrainte qu’elle s’impose à elle-même, qui semble être une restriction alors qu’étrangement, c’est ce cadre qui lui permet de se perdre pour trouver son art.

· · · · ·

Un documentaire réalisé par Bruno Boulianne sera présenté en continu pendant les heures d’ouverture. Un catalogue préfacé par Isabelle de Mévius avec des textes signés par Ginette Michaud et Mario Côté accompagnera cette exposition.


Pour vous assurer une visite sécuritaire, plusieurs mesures ont été mises en place dans le respect des normes décrétées par la santé publique. Notamment, le port du masque sera obligatoire tout au long de votre visite.

Les visites se feront sur réservation uniquement. Pour réserver une plage horaire, cliquez sur le lien ci-dessous, ou appelez-nous au (438) 384-1700. Vous pouvez également nous contacter par courriel à info@1700laposte.com.


RÉSERVEZ VOS PLACES


BIOGRAPHIE

Julie Ouellet, dessinatrice originaire du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, réside et travaille à Montréal. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat (2001) et d’une maîtrise (2019) en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Elle est lauréate de la bourse de recherche François-Xavier Marange de la Fondation de l’UQAM (2017), qui comprend une résidence à l’Atelier Circulaire de Montréal pour une durée d’un an (2020). Julie Ouellet enseigne le dessin à l’Université Sherbrooke depuis 2019 et à l’École de design de l’UQAM depuis 2021. Son travail est représenté depuis 2003 par la Galerie Simon Blais à Montréal.

Forte d’un impressionnant éventail d’œuvres peintes et dessinées à l’embranchement de la figuration et de l’abstraction, Julie Ouellet s’intéresse au trait et à sa propension à faire voyager et errer. L’artiste se questionne sur ce qui dicte ou influence le parcours entre la main qui trace et l’œil qui voit, et sur ce qui peut interférer entre les deux. Ses récentes expérimentations l’ont amenée à travailler en pleine nature et à réaliser des œuvres éphémères. Julie Ouellet poursuit aujourd’hui sa réflexion en explorant la technique de l’eau-forte en gravure.

Julie a participé à de nombreuses expositions solos et collectives à Montréal et à Toronto. Ses tableaux figurent dans la collection du musée Pointe-à-Callière à Montréal ; dans plusieurs collections d’entreprises, dont l’Alcan, la Banque Nationale, Loto-Québec et le Cirque du Soleil ; ainsi que dans des collections privées.


Photo_JulieOuellet


Capsule I: Isabelle de Mévius

Contact

Nos heures d’ouverture
dès le 23 avril

Du mercredi au dimanche
11h à 18h


Pour rester à l'affût de nos événements:

Isabelle de Mévius
Directrice générale et artistique

Roger Lupien
Directeur administratif

Anne Sophie La Haise
Adjointe coordonnatrice


Boutique : 

Écrivez à Florence Chapdelaine D. à l’adresse courriel florence@1700laposte.com pour placer une commande de catalogue(s).

Visites guidées (SUSPENDUES)  :

Du mercredi au dimanche, des visites de groupe gratuites sont offertes à tous et à toutes. Afin de s’assurer de la disponibilité des médiatrices, planifiez votre visite à l’avance en communiquant avec Florence Chapdelaine D. par téléphone au (438) 384-1700 ou à l’adresse courriel florence@1700laposte.com.

Merci de noter que le 1700 La Poste n’est pas disponible pour la location.