This fall, 1700 La Poste is proud to present a solo exhibition dedicated to Canadian artist Ed Pien.

 

Ed Pien is inspired by the myths and traditions of both West and East. Over nearly three decades, he has created a rich œuvre whose themes provoke moral and political reflection in viewers. Emerging out of a spontaneous process, his drawings are rooted in Pien’s study of historical representations of Hell and their relation to depictions of human atrocities and the violence of war.

“Bodies are intertwined and made complex through the superimposition of multiple drawings. A compact and originary mass gives rise to a new body that is ever-shifting and fantastical. A fiction impresses itself on the viewer. It engulfs us, calling on us to take part in this monstration that allows neither defense nor judgement. The artist forces us to participate and involves us in his questioning.”

 

Excerpt from the preface of the exhibition catalogue, by Isabelle de Mévius

FROM OCTOBER 12, 2018 AT 1700 LA POSTE

Contact

Opening hours

From Wednesday to Sunday
From 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Free admission

Our offices are open Monday to Friday, from 9AM to 5PM.


To stay informed of our events:

Isabelle de Mévius
Executive and Artistic Director

Roger Lupien
Administrative Director


Group visites are available to everyone. They can be scheduled at any moment during our opening hours. It is possible to plan the visit in advance to suit your group by communicating with Florence Chapdelaine D. by phone at (438) 384-1700 or by e-mail at info@1700laposte.com.

Please be advised that 1700 La Poste is not available for rent.

En ce début d’automne, le 1700 La Poste est fier de présenter une exposition dédiée à l’artiste canadien Ed Pien.

 

Ed Pien s’inspire des mythes et des traditions orientales et occidentales. Depuis plusieurs décennies, l’artiste conçoit une œuvre d’une grande richesse dont les thématiques forcent une réflexion morale et politique chez l’observateur. Son œuvre dessinée est réalisée avec grande spontanéité; elle trouve ses fondements dans les représentations imaginaires des enfers et leur apparente familiarité aux images des atrocités commises par l’homme et à la violence des guerres.

« Les corps sont enchevêtrés, complexifiés par ces dessins multiples. Une masse compacte et originaire se crée, comme l’invention d’un nouveau corps mouvant et fantastique. C’est une fiction qui s’impose au spectateur. Celui-ci est envahi, contraint de participer à cette monstration à laquelle il ne peut opposer aucune défense ni aucun jugement. L’artiste force à la participation et engage l’autre dans son questionnement. »

Extrait de la préface du catalogue d’exposition, par Isabelle de Mévius

DÈS LE 12 OCTOBRE PROCHAIN AU 1700 LA POSTE

Contact

Heures d’ouverture

Du mercredi au dimanche de 11h à 18h.

Entrée libre.

Nos bureaux sont ouverts du lundi au vendredi de 9h à 17h.

 


Pour rester à l'affût de nos événements:

Isabelle de Mévius
Directrice générale et artistique

Roger Lupien
Directeur administratif

Anne Sophie La Haise
Adjointe coordonnatrice


Du mercredi au dimanche, des visites de groupes gratuites sont offertes à tous et à toutes. Elles peuvent avoir lieu à tout moment, mais il est également possible de planifier la visite à l’avance en communiquant avec Florence Chapdelaine D. par téléphone au (438) 384-1700 ou à l’adresse courriel info@1700laposte.com.

Merci de noter que le 1700 La Poste n’est pas disponible pour la location.